Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Malta itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Malta is an island nation located in the Mediterranean Sea approximately 50 miles south of Italy. Malta is considered a Southern European nation. Malta celebrates 14 public and national holidays each year. All holidays that fall under national or public holidays are non-working paid holidays.

The government distinguishes the difference between a public holiday and a national holiday by flying the national flag on all dates it considers a national celebration. These holidays are patriotic in theme. There are no other distinctions between the two types of holidays.

National holidays are regulated by the National Holidays and other Public Holidays Act of 1975, and by an amendment in 2005 that states that holidays occuring on the regular rest days (weekends) do not entitle workers to an additional day off from work. This Act prevents holidays from being moved to the following Monday if they occur on rest days.

The Labour Laws of Malta state that all employees are required to receive pay for their non-working holidays. However, it is not clear what occurs when an employee is required to work on a holiday due to the nature of their position. In many cases, a substitute paid day off is usually given per work contract.

Many of the holidays celebrated in Malta are based on religious beliefs. Some of these holidays will change in date each year because their celebrations are based on the lunar cycle. The government of Malta releases a list of holidays and their celebration dates at the end of each year for the following year.

In some cases, the banks will take an additional day off if the holiday occurs on a Sunday. This does not occur often, but it is also not uncommon. The government of Malta will publish any special bank holiday on their list of national holidays each year.

Other Feast Days And Cultural Holidays

Malta has many feast days that it recognises throughout the year. In fact, 85 separate feast days are observed in Malta, including the entire month of October as the month of the Rosary. The government of Malta acknowledges that these feast days are celebrated in addition to the national and public holidays, but they do not recognise them on a government level. Employers are not required to provide paid days off for any of these feast days.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
10 FebFriFeast of St Paul's Shipwreck
19 MarSunFeast of St Joseph
31 MarFriFreedom Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
1 MayMonWorkers' Day
7 JunWedCommemoration of 1919 Riot /
Sette Giugno
29 JunThuFeast of St Peter and St Paul
15 AugTueFeast of the Assumption
8 SepFriFeast of Our Lady of Victories /
Victory Day
21 SepThuIndependence Day
8 DecFriFeast of the Immaculate Conception
13 DecWedRepublic Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day